Space Added for Upcoming Online Open Forums on Revised Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education

ILCSHE bannerA task force, appointed by the ACRL Board of Directors, is substantially revising the seminal Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education. First adopted in 2000, these standards have defined information literacy for librarians, educators, and assessment agencies.

Learn more about the work of this group, the direction it is taking in revising the standards, and, most importantly, share your input, reactions, and questions. Given the high demand, we have increased capacity for the two remaining online open forums to be held:

  • Tuesday, October 29, 8am Pacific/9am Mountain/10am Central/11am Eastern
  • Monday, November 4, 10am Pacific/11am Mountain/noon Central/1pm Eastern

Sign up now, or watch a recording of the first forum held earlier in October. There is no charge to participate in an online open forum and each lasts one hour.

As the higher education association for librarians, ACRL is committed to developing and maintaining forward thinking standards and guidelines that impact student learning across the campus community. The task force is working on a new approach that underscores the critical need for faculty members and librarians to collaborate to effectively address information literacy education that aligns with disciplinary content. While the exact approach is still under discussion, two new elements will be incorporated: threshold concepts and metaliteracy. These two foundational elements should provide the basis for more sustained collaborations with disciplinary faculty and create more aligned teaching and learning communities at the institutional level.