Library Advocacy Day Travel Grants

ACRL has chosen six winners for  2010 Library Advocacy Day travel grants. Reflecting ACRL’s commitment to fostering grassroots legislative advocacy, the association awarded $250 grants to the following ACRL Legislative Advocates to attend the June 29, 2010, event in Washington, D.C.:

  • Douglas Dechow, instruction librarian, Chapman University
  • Julie Kane, head of technical services, Sweet Briar College
  • Marvel Ann Maring, fine arts and humanities reference librarian, University of Nebraska-Omaha
  • James Patterson, director of library services, Northwestern Connecticut Community College
  • Angela Rathmel, head of serials orders and claims, University of Kansas Libraries
  • Daryl C. Youngman, assistant to the dean-collaborative initiatives, Kansas State University

For one year only, Library Advocacy Day will replace National Library Legislative Day. On June 29, 2010, library advocates from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. will meet at Upper Senate Park on the U.S. Capitol grounds. The event, which will begin at 11 a.m., features guest speakers, photo ops and a chance to cheer on libraries. After the rally, participants will meet with their elected officials and their staffs. You do not need to register for the ALA Annual Conference to attend Library Advocacy Day.

More information on Library Advocacy Day and the ACRL Legislative Advocate program are available online.