ACRL Announces Recipients of Sponsored Scholarships to OpenCon

OpenCon 2018 logo

OpenCon 2018 logoThe ACRL Research and the Scholarly Environment Committee (ReSEC) is pleased to announce the selection of Debbie Feisst and Willa Liburd Tavernier as sponsored scholarship recipients to attend OpenCon 2018 in Toronto, Canada, November 2-4, 2018. Debbie Feisst is Public Services Librarian at the University of Alberta Libraries in Edmonton, Canada, and Willa Liburd Tavernier is the Open Scholarship Resident Librarian at Indiana University Bloomington.

“We are delighted to award Debbie and Willa these scholarships as their work aligns with the mission and purpose of OpenCon,” remarked ReSEC chair Yasmeen Shorish, Data Services Coordinator/Associate Professor at James Madison University in Virginia. “The selection subcommittee (composed of previous OpenCon ACRL scholarship recipients Michelle Reed, Cynthia Orozco, and Tatiana Bryant) was excited by Debbie’s work developing an OER to teach Indigenous perspectives to elementary social studies teachers in Alberta. Likewise, they are inspired by Willa’s work developing assessment tools to evaluate the inclusiveness of repositories and publishing programs in order to increase representation and engage underrepresented groups in academic publishing at IU and beyond. We are so very fortunate that they will be joining ReSEC as committee members in July 2019.”

OpenCon 2018 is a platform for the next generation of scholars and researchers to learn about Open Access, Open Education, and Open Data; develop critical skills; and catalyze action toward a more open system for sharing information. In addition to attending OpenCon, Debbie and Willa will be appointed for 2-year terms on ACRL ReSEC to contribute to ACRL’s scholarly communication initiative by building on what they learn through OpenCon.