2018 Legislative Day Travel Scholarship Recipients Announced

NLLD 2018 logo

National Library Legislative Day informational graphic, May 7-8, 2017, Washington, DCACRL’s Government Relations Committee is pleased to announce that five ACRL members have been selected to receive travel scholarships to attend National Library Legislative Day (NLLD) in Washington, D.C., May 7-8, 2018, for the first time:

  • Mohamed Berray, Social Sciences Librarian for Political Sciences, Public Policy, International Affairs and Coordinator for Government Information at Florida State University in Tallahassee, FL;
  • Sonya M. Durney, Research and Teaching Librarian at the University of New England in Biddeford, ME;
  • Annah Hackett, Campus Engagement and Instruction Librarian at Grand View University in Des Moines, IA;
  • Virginia Moran, Research & Instruction Librarian at Macalester College in St. Paul, MN; and
  • Cara B. Stone, Instruction Librarian at Iowa State University in Ames, IA.

During NLLD, librarians, library staff, and library supporters from around the country converge on Capitol Hill to meet with their federal representatives to advocate for the support of libraries and library-friendly legislation.

Not traveling to DC? You can get involved by participating in Virtual Library Legislative Day, which allows library advocates to contact Congress from home throughout the week of May 7-11, 2018. This is an opportunity for all library advocates to make their voices heard on a national level.