Free ACRL Springboard Event with Clifford Lynch

Don’t miss the second annual ACRL Springboard Event: a free interactive webcast for ACRL members on June 3.  We know that professional development is important to you, and in these tough economic times, are pleased to offer this annual program to “thank you” for your participation in ACRL.  Join us on Wednesday, June 3, from 12:00 – 1:15 p.m. CDT (10:00 – 11:15 a.m. PDT; 11:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MDT; 1:00 – 2:15 p.m. EDT) for a lively discussion with Clifford Lynch, Executive Director of the Coalition for Networked Information.

Clifford Lynch has been the Director of the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI) since July 1997. CNI, jointly sponsored by the Association of Research Libraries and EDUCAUSE, includes about 200 member organizations concerned with the use of information technology and networked information to enhance scholarship and intellectual productivity.  Prior to joining CNI, Lynch spent 18 years at the University of California Office of the President, the last ten as Director of Library Automation. Lynch, who holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley, is an adjunct professor at Berkeley’s School of Information. He is a past president of the American Society for Information Science and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the National Information Standards Organization.

There is no registration fee for this member event, but please RSVP online by May 29 to confirm your space in the webcast.  Log-in details will be sent to you a few days before the webcast.

By providing this Springboard event, the ACRL Board is responding to your feedback that professional development is one of the most important services that ACRL provides and that members want additional online learning opportunities. ACRL is pleased to offer this free professional development event to our members and will make the archived recording available shortly after the webcast.  Questions should be directed to Margot Conahan at or call 312-280-2522.