2011 I Love My Librarian Awards

2011 I Love My Librarian Award CeremonyCongratulations to the winners of the 2011 Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award. Especially to the following recipients from the academic/ research library community:

Dr. Rhonda Allison Rios Kravitz

Sacramento City College

Sacramento, California

Rebecca Traub

Temple University Harrisburg

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Barbara K. Weaver

Ivy Tech Community College Northwest

Gary, Indiana

ACRL was represented in the selection process by Past President Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe. In their nominations, library patrons told stories of how their librarians make a difference in their community.  This year’s winners include a librarian who makes the library easier to use for people with disabilities, an innovator who integrates technology throughout her school for improved collaboration among students and teachers, and a business outreach librarian who creates a space for the unemployed and local business community to learn new skills, network and collaborate.

Nominations were open to librarians working in public, school, college, community college and university libraries.  Forty librarians nationwide have won the I Love My Librarian award since 2008.  More information about the award recipients is available at www.atyourlibrary.org/ilovemylibrarian.

Photo (L-R): Vartan Gregorian, President, Carnegie Corporation of New York; Marcia Warner, President, Public Library Association, a division of the American Library Association; I Love My Librarian selection committee; Nancy Everhart, Past President, American Association of School Librarians, a division of the American Library Association; I Love My Librarian selection committee; Caroline Kennedy; and Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe, Past President, Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association