ACRL OnPoint chat March 4: Conversational openings with faculty about scholarly communication

Join us for the next free ACRL OnPoint chat:

Thursday, March 4, 2010:  Conversational openings with faculty about scholarly communication
(11 a.m. Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern)
Are you interested in talking with faculty on your campus about scholarly communication issues, but not sure where to start? Have you had success in starting the discussion naturally? Share your strategies and ask colleagues for advice during this month’s OnPoint chat, convened by the authors of the February C&RL News column on this topic. Also, see ACRL’s Scholarly Communication Toolkit with twelve cases, integrating information from throughout the Toolkit, to help you recognize opportunities.

Discuss ways to raise scholarly communication issues which come up in a variety of settings when interacting with faculty. Librarians can often take advantage of these opportunities to increase awareness of those issues and new developments in scholarly publishing. Discussions may result in a faculty member’s use of, and support for, new services created by the library’s scholarly communication initiatives. Some faculty may even become advocates for introducing changes in the institution’s strategies of disseminating locally generated scholarly content This month’s chat convened by Dan Lee, Director, Office of Copyright Management & Scholarly Communication at the University of Arizona Library, and Adrian Ho, Scholarly Communication Librarian at the University of Western Ontario.

ACRL OnPoint is a live series of informal monthly chat sessions that provide the opportunity to connect with colleagues and experts to discuss an issue of the day in academic and research librarianship.  All ACRL OnPoint chats are free and open to the public. Sessions are unmoderated, 30-45 minutes in length and take place in a Meebo chat room. A transcript of the chat will be made available.

Meebo chat rooms have a limit of 80 total participants.  Due to this restriction, ACRL OnPoint discussions will be delivered on a first-come-first-served basis.  While no registration is necessary to participate, ACRL recommends creating a quick and easy Meebo account for the best experience while participating in ACRL OnPoint discussions/events. Find the link to chat and full details online.