ACRL Insider header image 2

ACRL OnPoint Chat December 2: Job Seeking in a Tough Economy

November 17th, 2009 by Kara Malenfant in Events, OnPoint 1 Comment

Join us for the next free ACRL OnPoint chat:

December 2, 2009:  Job Seeking in a Tough Economy
(11 a.m Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern)
Aspiring academic librarians may find job seeking difficult in today’s economy, given budget cuts and hiring freezes at many colleges and universities. Join this month’s chat whether you’re a new librarian looking for tips or an experienced one with advice to share. Discuss how to stay current while “waiting” for your first academic librarian job. Is teaching as adjunct faculty in a subject area an appropriate “path” to academic librarianship? Would it be better to work as any kind of librarian, such as in a public library? What will make your resume shine in the hands of a search committee? This month’s chat is convened by: Mara M.J. Egherman, graduate student in Iowa’s SLIS school; Karin Durán, Eric P. Garcia, and Mara L. Houdyshell, reference and instruction librarians at California State University-Northridge and authors of “From the inside out and the outside in: The academic library interview process in a tight economy“, C&RL News, April 2009, Vol. 70, No. 4.

ACRL OnPoint is a live series of informal monthly chat sessions that provide the opportunity to connect with colleagues and experts to discuss an issue of the day in academic and research librarianship.  All ACRL OnPoint chats are free and open to the public. Sessions are unmoderated, 30-45 minutes in length and take place in a Meebo chat room.

Meebo chat rooms have a limit of 80 total participants.  Due to this restriction, ACRL OnPoint discussions will be delivered on a first-come-first-served basis.  While no registration is necessary to participate, ACRL recommends creating a quick and easy Meebo account for the best experience while participating in ACRL OnPoint discussions/events. Find the link to chat and full details online.

Tags:

One Comment so far ↓

  • Mara E

    Hi, I’m one of the conveners for the upcoming OnPoint chat. What solutions have you found to our queries? Would you like to see questions addressed, beyond what we’ve outlined? I hope that this forum may also continue our discussion beyond the live chat. Hope to see you in the chatroom! Mara E.