Jun 16

Data and Privacy: Where to draw the line?

Sunday, June 26
1:00 PM – 2:30 PM
OCCC W206B

Join us on for a discussion of privacy issues and data collection in university libraries.

We will have four topics of moderated discussion:

  • The use of data in assessment,
  • The use of data to add value,
  • Location based services, and
  • Privacy, legal issues and collaboration.

We hope you’ll be able to join us and share your thoughts and experiences with this critical question.

This event is being facilitated by the ULS Committee on the Future of Libraries.


Jun 14

Taking Our Seat at the Table: How Academic Librarians Can Help Shape the Future of Higher Education

Be inspired! Join ACRL’s University Libraries Section (ULS) panel discussion, Taking Our Seat at the Table: How Academic Librarians Can Help Shape the Future of Higher Education, and learn from four diverse academic leaders who positioned their campus libraries at the center of dialogues addressing issues facing higher education.

ULS panel ALA Annual 2016 image

Date: Sunday, June 26
Time: 1:00-2:30pm
Location: Orange County Convention Center, Room S320 A-C
Scheduler link: https://www.eventscribe.com/2016/ala-annual/fsPopup.asp?Mode=presInfo&PresentationID=138557

Panelists will share the innovative ideas and partnerships they have developed related to student success, open educational resources, learning spaces and tools, and faculty support in order to inspire librarians to think strategically about how academic libraries and librarians can extend their reach and leverage expertise to participate in – and lead – important campus conversations about the future of higher education. Now is the time for librarians to step outside of their comfort zones, envision new areas of library work, and collaborate with partners to help lead positive organizational change that benefits students, faculty and communities.

Panelists include:

  • Dr. Maria Martinez-Cosio, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Monica Metz-Wiseman, Interim Director Academic Resources, University of South Florida Libraries
  • Catherine Murray-Rust, Dean of Libraries and Vice Provost for Academic Effectiveness, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Sue Ryan, Betty Drees Johnson Dean of the Library & Learning Technologies, Stetson University

Jun 01

Inclusion on Campus: How Libraries Foster a Welcoming Culture

Sponsored by the ACRL ULS Campus Administration and Leadership Discussion Group, please join us for a lively conversation about inclusion on campus. Extending beyond hiring practices and programming, we hope to facilitate a discussion around the structures, systems, and processes that perpetuate inequality in the academy and in librarianship. In today’s politically-fraught climate, what ways are campus leaders addressing critical social issues such as racism and sexism within their organizations? How are organizations contributing to sustainable solutions and discourse that goes further than checking a box? And what can (or can’t) libraries do to foster a welcoming and inclusive culture on our campuses?

Brian LeafThe discussion will be facilitated by Brian Leaf, Instructional Design Librarian at the Ohio State University. He was a 2009 ALA Spectrum Scholar and a 2010 ARL Career Enhancement Program Fellow. While attending graduate school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, he was an early driver of diversity efforts that led to creation of the School of Information and Library Science (SILS) Diversity Advocate Certificate. Currently, he serves on the Executive Board as a Member-at-Large for the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association.

Please join us on Saturday (June 25) from 1-2:30 pm in the Hilton Orlando, Room Lake Eola A.

More info at: http://connect.ala.org/node/253554


May 11

ACRL ULS On-the-Fly Mentoring @ ALA Annual 2016

meeting-1019768_960_720
Looking for objective input or feedback from seasoned professionals, or seeking a convenient way to connect with other librarians?  Do a “fly by” at ALA Annual!

The University Library Section (ULS) Membership Committee is providing its “On-the-Fly” Mentoring service in Orlando, which allows a mentee to talk with a mentor for a 20-minute session, on a drop-in basis*.

Based in the Placement Center in the Orange County Convention Center, the service is available during these windows of time:

Saturday, 6/25, 9:00am – 12:00pm
Sunday, 6/26, 1:00pm – 4:00pm

Whether you want to talk with a mentor or provide mentorship, we’d love for you to participate!

Mentors, sign up here today: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1leCLtGaU2gQFo6Qh_G5WqeCRZX36HFg2Ex-F3Wp8flE/edit?usp=sharing

*Note: Mentors, please sign up now so we can gauge capacity for drop-in sessions. Mentees, sign up to participate on-site, when you visit the ALA JobLIST Placement and Career Development Center


May 10

ACRL ULS Social @ ALA Annual 2016

Taverna Opa Orlando interior

Going to ALA Annual in Orlando? Interested in university libraries or in just casually meeting some fellow librarians? We’re once again hosting a social to help you unwind after a busy Saturday of programs. Details are below:

When: Saturday, June 25, 5:30-7:00pm
Where: Taverna Opa Orlando (9101 International Drive, Suite 2240 [2nd level of Pointe Orlando], Orlando, FL 32819) – just a short distance (~.5 mile!) from the Orange County Convention Center

Enjoy free appetizers and a cash bar, while also networking with fellow ULS and other conference attendees. Also meet, greet, and celebrate with inaugural ACRL ULS Professional Development Award winner, University of Arizona’s Nicole Pagowsky!

See also the Facebook event page and conference scheduler page. Hope to see you there!

Event organized by the ACRL ULS Membership Committee.


Apr 25

ACRL ULS Online Discussion: Integration and High-Impact: Educational Practices for Student Success

ACRL ULS, through its Online Discussion Group, is pleased to host the following online discussion: “Integration and High-Impact: Educational Practices for Student Success.”

The discussion will be held on Thursday, May 5, 2016 1:00pm CST.

Please join us! To register for this discussion, go to: https://acrl.webex.com/acrl/onstage/g.php?MTID=ef47ace85212cce30715ebca1796fb11a

When planning for instruction, do you look beyond the formal classroom setting for hands-on, informal, or non-traditional experiences, relationships, and strategies to help students succeed and persist? This discussion will include definitions and examples of high-impact educational practices (Kuh, 2008), as well as experiences from two university librarians on how they have collaborated with various partners across their campuses to engage with students outside of traditional instructional sessions.

Presenters:

  • Rhonda Huisman, Director of University Library Services, Marian University (rhuisman@marian.edu), ACRL Vice-Chair, Student Learning and Information Literacy Committee (SLILC)
  • Margaret N. Gregor, Instructional Materials Center Coordinator & Associate Professor, Appalachian State University (gregormn@appstate.edu)
  • Jenny Dale, Coordinator of First-Year Programs, Liaison to Departments of English and Communication Studies, UNC-Greensboro (jedale2@uncg.edu)

Note: For those who cannot join us for the live event, the discussion will be recorded.

If you have ideas for future topics, please share those with the members of the ACRL ULS Online Discussion Group: Jessica McClean (jlm336@txstate.edu), Apryl Price (acprice@fsu.edu), and Drew Smith (dsmith@usf.edu).


Mar 29

ACRL ULS Roundtable Discussion: Outreach Programming for Student Orientations

The ULS Academic Outreach Committee offers a series of Online Roundtable Discussions on topics related to academic outreach endeavors.

The next week of discussions begins April 4th. Each discussion will last 1 hour and be limited to 9 participants and 1 facilitator (like a face-to-face roundtable discussion).

April’s Topic: Outreach Programming for Student Orientations

This month’s discussion will focus on how libraries approach various orientation activities. We will talk about new student and transfer orientations typically held in the summer as well as the myriad of activities offered to welcome students back in the fall. Come prepared to talk about what you’re doing, share programming ideas, successes and lessons learned, and discuss the logistics of specific events. Join us for a lively discussion and leave with great ideas for future programming.

All discussions will be hosted on Google Hangouts on Air. The sessions will be recorded and posted to the ACRL ULS Academic Outreach Committee YouTube Channel. Past discussions are posted there now.

Sign up for one of the following dates and times, via ALA Connect: http://connect.ala.org/node/251781

  • Monday, April 4th: 9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST
  • Tuesday, April 5th: 10am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST
  • Wednesday, April 6th: 11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST
  • Thursday, April 7th: 12pm PST / 1pm MST / 2pm CST / 3pm EST

To register, select a date/time above and click the “register” link. You will need a valid Gmail account to participate.

Discussions are limited in numbers to encourage active discussion from all participants, varying in expertise. Participants must have a microphone in order to participate. Those interested in observing the discussion are encouraged to watch the live broadcast or review the recordings on our YouTube Channel.

Instructions for accessing the discussion in Google Hangouts on Air will be sent to participants by email.

Questions? Please email ULS.AOC@gmail.com


Mar 16

2016 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award winners announced

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award. The University Libraries Section would like to give a special shout out to the university category winner, Robert W. Woodruff Library at Atlanta University Center, for transformative change in innovative services and programs.

For more information about this year’s winners, please visit the official press release and the March issue of ACRL’s College and Research Libraries News.


Feb 03

ACRL ULS Roundtable Discussion: Outreach Programming for Themed Events

The ULS Academic Outreach Committee offers a series of Online Roundtable Discussions on topics related to Academic Outreach endeavors.

The next week of discussions begins February 8th. Each discussion will last 1 hour and be limited to 12 participants and 1 facilitator (like a face-to-face roundtable discussion).

February’s Topic: Outreach Programming for Themed Events

This month’s discussion will focus on how libraries can use themed events, such as National Library Week, Women’s History Month, and African American History Month, to create awareness of their services and resources. We will talk about a variety of upcoming events, share programming ideas, successes and lessons learned, and discuss the logistics of specific events. Join us for a lively discussion and leave with great ideas for future programming.

Sign up for one of the following dates and times, via ALA Connect: https://shar.es/1hizhu

  • Monday, February 8th: 9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST
  • Tuesday, February 9th: 10am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST
  • Wednesday, February 10th: 11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST
  • Thursday, February 11th: 12pm PST / 1pm MST / 2pm CST / 3pm EST

All discussions will be hosted on Google Hangouts on Air. The sessions will be recorded and posted to the ACRL ULS Academic Outreach Committee YouTube Channel. Past discussions are posted there now.

Discussions are limited in numbers to encourage active discussion from all participants, varying in expertise. Participants must have a microphone in order to participate. Those interested in observing the discussion are encouraged to watch the live broadcast or review the recordings on our YouTube Channel.

Instructions for accessing the discussion in Google Hangouts on Air will be sent to participants by email.

Questions?  Please email ULS.AOC@gmail.com


Dec 14

Volunteers Needed: ACRL Membership Booth at the 2016 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston

ALA Midwinter 2017 logo

Join your colleagues and volunteer to staff the ACRL booth at the 2016 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston. Both current and prospective members visit for information about ACRL and its sections, interest groups, activities, services, and publications.

You can register to win a free 2017 ACRL Conference registration. We will be giving away nautical pins to promote the upcoming conference.

Why Volunteer

  • We need your enthusiastic presence to promote ACRL 2017 in Baltimore.
  • It is a relaxed way to meet new, prospective, and current members, while helping promote ACRL membership.
  • Volunteering takes only an hour of your time!
  • Since there will be two people staffing the booth each hour, you will have good company.
  • You do not need to worry about knowing every answer to every question. There’s a handy booth reference notebook designed to answer most questions that come up. If not, you can collect the question and refer it back out to ACRL staff.

Please sign-up for an hour-long time slot at http://www.signupgenius.com/go/5080f4dafa62e5-acrl by Monday, January 4.


Older posts «